Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home Page / Reviews
    Lost? Site Map

    Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack

    Member since Jun 2008

    Chef #876090

    From Middlebury Center, Pennsylvania

    Flag as Inappropriate

    74 Reviews

    Sort by: Date | Rating | Most Helpful

    Reviewed Ice Cubes

    Handle
    Friday, Jan 3, 2014 on Food.com
     |  (1 person found this helpful) |  995 Reviews  |  By CHRISSYG
    LinMarie says:

    "The worst thing you can ever do when making Ice Cubes is to use "OLD WATER". Usually found in jars at the back of the Ice Box or half used gallon jugs of store bought water. These produce "cloudy" water every time. Rain water isn't so good either. Any water imported from China also is the worst. Hope this steers y'all..."

    Reviewed World's Best Grilled Steak

    Handle
    Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 on Food.com
     |  (1 person found this helpful) |  76 Reviews  |  By Chef Dee
    LinMarie says:

    "Dee, my DW and I had this last night. In our years and years of having marinated steaks this IS THE BEST. Thank you. It was just like everyone wrote. Again, THANK YOU. The best piece of Chuck ever.Fire House Chef."

    Reviewed TSR Version of Chili's Grilled Baby Back Ribs by Todd Wilbur

    Handle
    Monday, May 31, 2010 on Food.com
     |  76 Reviews  |  By ciao
    LinMarie says:

    "five stars to the tenth power. Had these the day before yesterday and EVERYONE complimented you on your recipe. I NEVER change a recipe before we try it and I certainly wont ever change this one. Used your sauce on chicken yesterday. Excellant. Thank you for posting this one. Cap'n Jack Oh, I did add one thing. PLENTY OF BEER."

    Reviewed Mom's Better Than Sex Cake

    Handle
    Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 on Food.com
     |  (1 person found this helpful) |  1 Reviews  |  By Kathy L Jordan
    LinMarie says:

    "Our congratulations. This is more than we expected. I made this yesterday for the Wifes Ladies Church group and they scarfed it down. Was told this will be in any Dish to Pass evening. I don't see why you couldn't use almost any mix Chocolate etc. If 10 * were possible this would get them. Thank you for a wonderful and easy recipe. Cap'n Jack"

    Reviewed Garam Masala Deviled Eggs

    Handle
    Monday, Mar 22, 2010 on Food.com
     |  (1 person found this helpful) |  9 Reviews  |  By Sandi (From CA)
    LinMarie says:

    ""Cackle Berries", one of my favorite fruits. This was very tasty. When I don't have raddishes I us Water Chestnuts. Nice crunch. Keep them recipes a-comin.Cap'n Jack"

    Reviewed Perfect Southern Greens (Kale, Beet, Collard Greens, Mustard)

    Handle
    Sunday, Mar 14, 2010 on Food.com
     |  (9 people found this helpful) |  49 Reviews  |  By NcMysteryShopper
    LinMarie says:

    "NcMystery; This is the way my family has been doing it since I was in three corner pants.(I'll be 80 in April). THE ONLY difference is that I cook the bacon and add the onions etc. to the bacon fat. Just an added flavor to relish. Where I come from pork rules and the only thing we never used was the oink. Simply because we couldn't catch it.Cap..."

    Reviewed Sweet Potato-Pecan Pie

    Handle
    Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 on Food.com
     |  16 Reviews  |  By Nancy Van Ess
    LinMarie says:

    "Nancy,The Wife and I love both Sweet Potato pie and Pecan pie. This Marriage was GREAT. Thanks, and be assured this will appear on our table many, many times in the future. (I've already been told) :O)Cap'n Jack"

    Reviewed Irish Kielbasa Chowder

    Handle
    Friday, Jan 1, 2010 on Food.com
     |  9 Reviews  |  By Realtor by day, Chef by night
    LinMarie says:

    "It snowed here yesterday and this was just the thing for Supper last night. Didn't have any Kielbasa SO, I threw in a pound of Jimmy Deans hot Breakfast sausage. WOW, thanks for a simple and pleasing recipe. Will use it often.Cap'n Jack"

    Reviewed Boursin Cheese - Make Your Own Homemade - Substitute, Clone

    Handle
    Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 on Food.com
     |  31 Reviews  |  By Elly in Canada
    LinMarie says:

    "WELL, I guess you have a real winner here. I made this yesterday and just gave my wife a sample. She immediately dropped what she was doing, grabbed crackers and cheese sat down in front of the "BOOB tube" and is scarfing it down in rapid succession. Thanks and keep those recipes coming.Cap'n Jack"

    Reviewed Pumpernickel Bread

    Handle
    Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 on Food.com
     |  27 Reviews  |  By capted
    LinMarie says:

    "Capted, this is one of the very few Pumpernickle breads that I really like. In fact it is on top of my "keeper" list. Great job, keep 'em coming.Light and makes great toast. ALSO, with a little limburger cheese and onion, Mit a good beer I was in "Hog Heaven".Cap'n Jack"

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites