Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home Page / Reviews
    Lost? Site Map

    LR Beckwith

    Member since Sep 2002

    Chef #55974

    From Houston

    Flag as Inappropriate

    10 Reviews

    Sort by: Date | Rating | Most Helpful

    Reviewed Pear Honey

    Handle
    Wednesday, Oct 16, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (1 person found this helpful) |  8 Reviews  |  By Dreamgoddess
    LinMarie says:

    "My friend in Nacogdoches, Texas makes this pear honey and I love it. My wife had to learn the recipe and every year we mooch pears. Can't wait for my trees to get large enough to bear fruit.LR Beckwith"

    Reviewed Shrimp Gumbo

    Handle
    Tuesday, Oct 15, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (12 people found this helpful) |  5 Reviews  |  By Bev
    LinMarie says:

    "I can't help but agree with your father. I was born in Louisiana in 1940 and have enjoyed Shrimp Gumbo for many years. When you add sausage to it the shrimp flavor is overpowered. A friend of mine in La Rose said to me if it's not shrimp, it's not gumbo. His wife made wonderful gumbo and never put a hint of sausage near it. This is truly one of th..."

    Reviewed Franks Place (Crawfish Etouffee)

    Handle
    Monday, Oct 14, 2002 on Food.com
     |  1 Reviews  |  By Susie in Texas
    LinMarie says:

    "This is a basic etouffe' and very good. You shouls also add every spice you have in the pantry. My wife combined Justin Wilsons recipe with Pickwick cafeteria in Baton Rouge and used all spices from each and it's a killer recipe.When she finds it again I will post it. She's afraid it was lost in a move to the middle east in 1989.LR Beckwith"

    Reviewed Crayfish Etouffee

    Handle
    Monday, Oct 14, 2002 on Food.com
     |  1 Reviews  |  By Mysterygirl
    LinMarie says:

    "This dish should start with a golden Roux, which is butter and flour. It's a basis of the great flavor and really brings out the flavor of crawdads.Cornstarch?LR Beckwith"

    Reviewed Ancho Chile and Bourbon Sauce

    Handle
    Sunday, Oct 13, 2002 on Food.com
     |  3 Reviews  |  By Thomas Fitzpatrick
    LinMarie says:

    "If you let this sauce get thick enough then use it on quail and grill them, it is to die for.MMMM mmm good.L.R. Beckwith"

    Reviewed South Louisiana Chicken and Sausage Gumbo (No Okra!)

    Handle
    Sunday, Oct 13, 2002 on Food.com
     |  16 Reviews  |  By Missy Wright
    LinMarie says:

    "Folks,This is pretty good, but it ain't gumbo. "Gumbo" means "okra". That is the literal translation. I was born and raised in Louisiana and I've had this argument with my Mother-in-law a thousand times. She loves fried okra but doesn't like it in gumbo. That's fine, but then it's an excellent stew, not "Gumbo". L.R. Beckwith"

    Reviewed Good-Morning Pancakes

    Handle
    Sunday, Oct 6, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (5 people found this helpful) |  32 Reviews  |  By Lennie
    LinMarie says:

    "My wife made these over the weekend for me. We both loved them. She cut the sugar, we're both diabetic and added a pinch of salt. They were wonderfully light. Can't wait to get back to the states to make them for the kids. LR and Bonnie in China."

    Reviewed E-Z Poached Eggs for 2

    Handle
    Wednesday, Oct 2, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (5 people found this helpful) |  9 Reviews  |  By Aroostook
    LinMarie says:

    "This is an excellent poached egg recipe. It looks better with white pepper. The instant cheese sauce in markets makes a great topping for these eggs.LR Beckwith"

    Reviewed Friendship Fruitcake

    Handle
    Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (5 people found this helpful) |  5 Reviews  |  By ciao
    LinMarie says:

    "My wife used to make this cake when we were in the Middle East. It is wonderful and the fruit will have a lovely brandy odor in the kitchen. When I took her home the starter recipe she made me get the cake recipe, also. We had the pecans in the Middle East but they're not available here in China. It is definitely worth the wait.LR Beckwith"

    Reviewed Starter for Friendship Fruitcake

    Handle
    Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 on Food.com
     |  (8 people found this helpful) |  6 Reviews  |  By ciao
    LinMarie says:

    "My wife did this recipe when we were posted in Doha, Qatar in the Middle East and it is delicious. We gave two of these cakes to some British friends and they consumed both for breakfast. The fruit has a lovely brandy odor when fermenting.LR Beckwith"

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites